Ahoy tri-state / east coasters! (weather-related question here)

Calling all tri-state / east coasters: have you had a terrifically difficult time with dizziness & migraines over the past week / week and a half?

I was getting both my classical and vestibular migraines under control (relative newbie here) until last week’s big bad storm put me under for over 90 hours (serious room spinning vertigo, crazy tinnitus, ear-popping like mad - not to mention a classical migraine that almost landed me in the ER for an IVs sweet, sweet nectar). And this week’s storm has my migraines at it again… (vertigo, partial blindness + double vision, level-7/8 pain, ear popping, the works!) When I do that math I’ve had less than 10hours in the past two weeks where I’ve been classical & vestibular migraine-free. Whew! I’m pretty exhausted.

So! If you have any tips on how to manage weather-triggers & their nasty aftermath, please let me know. I know vitamins can take up to three months to really kick in, same with Topamax. Right now i’m managing with hot baths, cannabis, a very migraine-friendly diet (flaxseed! spinach! yams! flaxmilk!), peppermint oil, regularly going to the gym and vestibular therapy (I’m at NYU & love them), doing my Bs and avoiding screes as much as possible (I type with my eyes closed!). And Imitrex when the pain reaches that point. I love brooklyn but… I’m getting close to permanently flying the coop.

PS - starting botox soon… if anyone has feedback on how it helps with dizziness (I know it’s effective with classical migraines) – please share!

Hi primer,

I am in the North East and yes, my dizziness has been out of hand in the last two weeks. The weather might have been a factor as the pressure varied by a full 1 unit within a day or two, though I have other things going on as well.