Help Finding a Doctor in New York/New Jersey

Hi All

I was diagnosed with MAV back in June by Dr. Cherchi. I found this forum shortly after and it was such a relief to know that I was not alone with this strange and awful thing (although I would never wish it on others), but this is my first time posting.

I saw Dr. Cherchi a couple times and while I was thankful to finally have a diagnoses I was not too thrilled with the way I was treated there. But that is neither here nor there. I just moved to New Jersey last week and I was wondering if anyone on this site would be able to recommend a doctor I could see out here for continued care. I would be willing to travel either to Newark or New York City to see the Doctor. I would really be grateful for the help. I feel a bit lost as to how to select a good doctor in a new city.

Also as a side question: Any advice as to how to stay positive when trying medications? How long to try before giving up? I’m feeling really frustrated by lack of results, over 2 months on a super-strict migraine diet, 9 weeks on vitamins, and 2 weeks into meds.

Thank you! I’m so glad this support forum is out there.

Kristi
Daily problems first started for me in February of 2008 and I have not had a symptom free day since.

Hi Kristi