How do you know if your meds are working?

Kind of a general question about all meds.

I know this sounds stupid, but how can you tell if your med is working. I mean I would assume you would be feeling better, but for most of the drugs I’ve seen listed on here there’s a fairly long (month to 6 weeks) of trail before you know.

Is it that you wake up one day and go ‘wow, I feel better,’ or is it ‘you know, the past week wasn’t as horrible as the week before’ ?

I’m new to MAV and on my first med…Verapamil. I wasn’t having any side effects so I was up to my full dose (360mg) within a week. That was 5 weeks ago and absolutely no change/improvement.

Any advise is welcomed
Judy

Well, for me I was able to identify my triggers, so I knew exactly how to trigger a migraine, and also the exact feelings I would get when I exposed myself to my triggers (numb/fog brain that quickly progressed into the rocking sensation that got worse and worse with continued exposure).

I knew the medication was working when I could expose myself to the triggers and the sympotms no longer occurred. I’ve been on Topamax for 4 months and I haven’t felt the rocking sensation in over 3 months now. So that is a pretty good indication that the med is working!

I realize for a lot of people trigger identification isn’t quite so obvious. For me, bright artificial light and anger were the two things that set me off. I was pretty asymptomatic if I could avoid those two things. I was never 24/7 like some people, which made it easier for me to track down what was going on.

Thanks Jamie

I’m a 24/7 person. Sounds though that you did notice a difference after a month. So glad you were able to find a med that works!

Thanks again,
Judy

Hi beachgal