The Migraine Associated Vertigo Community
Read our welcome post, user support wiki & visit our member recommended products page

I'm back here after 5 years of no vertigo, damn it. Need a hug

My screen name is Longshort, I am a lawyer and professor in Chicago. I suffered miserably for a year, was told this was BPPV, went to dizzy doctors in Chicago and then to the Mayo in Minnesota – they put me on Celexa, nighttime valium, and I was already on a beta blocker. The diagnosis was Chronic Subjective Dizziness.

I left this board in 2015 because I was “cured.” I had no episodes from 2015-2020. I traveled constantly for work (I teach internationally) so I typically circle the earth twice a year. This last year I did 3 long circles (e.g., Chicago-Istanbul-Kazakhstan-China-Chicago).

I still take the Celexa which I hate because of sexual side effects, and still take valium which I hate because I am anti-drug and don’t drink etc. But I was healthy, able to work, be a father and function at about 95%.

Three days ago I woke up spinning. The Epley gave me vertigo when my head was leaning left, which I attributed to an earache I had picked up. Then it lessened, but last night I had tintinitis in my right ear and now I am spinning when my head is to the right.

I thought I had this beat, not totally wiped out but under control. There were things I could not do again (running, basketball, get on a boat) but I was otherwise normal.

I am really depressed about this. So I am back.

4 Likes

I’m really sorry to hear that Longshort and there’s a virtual hug heading your way from me. So that can happen eh? I’ve basically been vertigo free for 3.5 years and have been thinking I might have beaten it too. I only take Betahistine regularly, no alcohol, no coffee, conscious avoidance of stress, various vitamins. I have no solutions for you but you have my deepest sympathy. Vertigo is a horrible beast. Please keep posting. It went away before so it can and will again.

2 Likes