Is eating (in general) a trigger for you?

Hi everyone,

I’ve been reading your forum for quite a while, but this is my first time posting. So before I ask my question I’ll introduce myself real quick: I’ve had MAV (actually labeled vestibular migraine by my doctor) for 4+ years, and it’s been quite disabling. I had to quit my job about 6 months into it and have not been able to work since. I mostly just stay home alone where it’s quiet and calm – I can usually handle being out and about in the world for 2 or 3 hours a week total. During really good phases I can probably handle 6-8 hours out a week. I’ve tried many of the usual preventives and supplements but haven’t yet found one that helps.

**Here’s my question: I have many of the typical triggers (noise, certain smells, motion of course) & many of the constant symptoms you all describe, but the one thing that brings about the most instantaneous, severe symptoms is when I eat more than a small amount of food (and ocassionally even small amounts of food will do it). And it’s not any particular food (I’ve had it happen with carbs, proteins, dairy, plain fruit, plain hard boiled egg, etc.).

Usually if I eat only small amounts I can avoid the severe symptoms, but if I overeat at all (even an amount that would probably be normal for most people), I very quickly get numbness and tingling in my lips and around my mouth. I sometimes get the tingling in my fingers as well. Sometimes I can stop the symptoms there if I stop eating and get somewhere quiet, but other time it progresses to the horrible queasy, motion sick feeling and I even lose some cognitive function (it’s hard to focus on what people are saying, and when I speak some words come out in the wrong order).**

Does anyone have anything at all like this? Even if it doesn’t bring on the exact symptoms I described, do any of you get worse from eating, regardless of the type of food?