ISO perspective from veterans

I developed atypical migraines disease 3 years ago after taking a job as a software developer and starring at the screenings for 10 hours a day.

I never get headaches but dizziness, and in busy environments the feeling that I’m about to faint.

I’m on several medications to help me function.

It has been three years but I am just now coming to terms with this disease and trying to get my head around what it means for me.

What I would love to hear is from some people who have been coping with migraine disease for longer than I have who can help me gain some perspective on the disease.

For instance, is my goal in life now to absolutely stay under my daily migraine threshold, even if that means quitting my somewhat stressful but rewarding job?

Or is a low level of Daily dizziness now simply a part of my life?

Does this get better/worse over time?

Thanks a lot

Hey James! I am an electrical engineer with a similar background as you. I’m about 3.5 years in and I’m nearing 100% recovered. The 1st year was awful, the 2nd year there was a glimmer of hope, and then 3rd year was where I recovered the most.

If you are fairly certain that your problems are of migraine-origin (and not physical trauma to the ear), my main advice is to throw the kitchen sink of migraine treatments at it. This is how I improved the most. If you need to pause in your career a bit, that can help too, and when you get better you will do fine with regular stress again. I blamed myself for a long time thinking I was stressing myself out, so I took 6 months off and had very little improvement. That’s why you need to think of this thing as a disease and not your fault due to selecting a career that has some stress. I think an ideal job will have stress from time to time, this is normal. I am happily working at a computer now between 8-10 hours a day with very little symptoms.