Klonopin

For those of you who are on klonopin, I was just wondering what dosage you find most affective?

Thanks,
Selena

I’m doing well on Klonopin. Out of the 3 meds I take (the other two are preventatives, Klonopin is a suppressant) Klonopin out-performs them all by a lot. I take .5 tid. Truth is, if my doc would allow me more I would be tempted to take it - so i’m glad he won’t. It’s a benzo, you can build a tolerance, and it can depress you. the .5 tid gets me through the day relatively comfortably (and I do mean relatively).

The thing I like best about Klonopin is that it doesn’t make me dopey, like Valium or Xanax. It probably makes me a little tired, but that’s okay after a year of being freaked out and not able to sleep at all (seriously, 2 hours a night), but mostly it works in the background, just calms down the dizziness. When I take Valium, i KNOW i’m taking Valium.

Hope that helps. Search for some of Kira’s posts. She can tell you more about Klonopin - I’m a newbie to it.

Good luck,

Julie

The neuro-otologist who put me on it used 3 mg as his top dose. Ironically, if you look up dosing for anxiety–4mg/day is the top suggested dose, and for seizures it can go up to 20mg/day. It’s a very potent, yet long acting benzo.
On the MDD site recommended by Jenny there’s a file from a physician supporting using it at even higher doses, when needed–one person’s opinion.
Initially, I was slow to go up on, and he pushed me–and I maxed out at 1mg am and 1.75 mg pm. For the last couple of years it has been 1 mg twice a day. With my recent flare, we added (new doctor) .25 mg to the evening dose, along with zoloft at 12.5 mg.
I have tried to wean down almost since I started it, and just haven’t been able–there is a withdrawal syndrome, but for me, I get more nauseated and dizzy.