Migraine Diet

Well . . . I am sure that many of you are, or have been, just like me when I read the “foods to avoid” on the migraine diet. My normal diet consists of everything on the “foods to avoid” list. My range of food is so far reaching that the task seems a bit overwhelming.

I visited Johns Hopkins after having just about enough of dead ends with my vertigo. I have the kind that strikes out of nowhere, cannot stand or function for several days. The room spins like a top relentlessly. Initially, I thought it might be BPPV, so I tried the Epley’s Maneuver. What a mistake. As it was, the slightest head movement was torture. Now, the daunting task of narrowing down the possible triggers. I sure hope pizza isn’t one of them :0).

I am new to this discussion, so any advice (non-medical) would be appreciated. My job is very particular about medications that don’t fit into their corporate guidelines. I prefer medication as a last resort. Oh, one last question. Should I expect to have this “spacy” feeling for a while?

Personally, I did the migraine diet a little differently than most people on this site, but the basics are still the same. I know this sucks, but you have to remove everything from your diet that is on the list, and you have to remain very true to it for the first two or three months. I personally wasn’t eating anything and lost 5 to 10 pounds. the changes your body will experience are gradual so you probably won’t notice any improvement.

Once your system is cleared out, you can start adding food on the list back in to find your triggers or aggrevators. If the diet is going to work for you, you will notice certain foods will cause your symptoms to act up. Avoid those foods. You have to be careful at this stage to not add more than one food at a time from the no-no list. If you eat two foods on the list at the same time, how do you know which one was the cause, or was it both.