Need help learning how to live with MAV ;)

Hello there, my name is Jose, I am 24 years old and this is my first time posting on here. I have been a suffering from vestibular migraines ever since I got a flu virus in February of 2017 that went into my inner right ear and damaged my vestibular nerve. I have been trying to manage this horrible condition but unfortunately havenā€™t had much success. Itā€™s a lot better than what it was when it first started but I still have some awful days. I was just wondering what do you guys do or take to feel better? How do you make a living with this thing? I need some recommendations because I am currently taking Gabapentin 600mg 3 times a day, Verapamil 120mg once a day and supplements like Magnesium 500mg, Vitamin B12 and D3, ginkgo biloba and COQ10 200mg however It is still a daily struggle with this demon.
I tried Amitriptyline, Effexor XR and Topamax but all they did was make me feel worse. How is it possible to live a productive life with MAV? I have so much uncertainty regarding my future. I am a medical assistant and I donā€™t know how but by the grace of God I have been able to keep the job as I have called out more times than I can remember. I feel stuck in life feeling like never again will I get another job or even get married and start a family. I would love to back to college to further my education, but I feel like itā€™s not possible. I donā€™t mean to sound dramatic, but I have nobody to talk to and feel very lonely. I would truly appreciate it if anyone could help me out.

Thank You :slight_smile:

5 Likes

Hi and welcome. Sorry circumstances have brought you here but you should find support here with ā€˜People That Know and Understandā€™. You are in the right place and sounds like you are doing all the right things to progress. Joining up here should relieve much of your loneliness Incidentally just for the record, It is very common for MAV to start after a dose of the flu.