Painkiller alternative?

Acetaminophen. When I’m hurting enough to interfere with other activities, I take some.
For the last few days, I was sore in this knee, that thigh, sort of thing. Last night, around 3 AM, my knee hurt so badly I took a gram of acetaminophen, then when I got up, a celebrex. This afternoon I sorted out that I mess up my knee with the breast stroke, so maybe if I stay away from that it will heal. Meanwhile, what would you suggest for when pain is severe enough to prevent normal activities, such as sleeping?

Hi David,
As a fellow electrician I know the abuse we put our bodies through on a constuction site. It’s funny, when an athlete reaches their 40’s they are considered done meanwhile we are expected to be in our prime. I know a lot of guys on the job site who have had their knees scoped and said it helped. Have you looked into it at all or at least physio. I tried accupuncture for my knee and maybe it was placebo but I found it helped a bit(temporarily). I’m currently seeing a pain doc for my headaches and he performs nerve blocks and botox. He also wants me to try some sort of meditation called “mind body training” which sounds a little strange but he said he gets better results than meds. He told me to stay away from opioids, it’s a road to failure. In the mean time I rub something on my neck called biofreeze, there is also another product called medi stick which I haven’t tried yet.

Good luck,
Steve

Hi David,

Here’s what Silver has to say about it in his fact sheet:

Painkillers used for other pain conditions

— Begin quote from ____