Symptoms after routine gynae op

Hello I’m a newbie

Desperately looking for help and advice ?! I went in for a routine gynae op under a GA 8 wks ago and since then have been plagued with chronic migraines and dizziness 24/7 with blurred vision and fuzzy feelings in head and ears. Feel like I’m going mad at times. I am 50 and currently on HRT ……I don’t know if this is a contributing factor ? I was seen by neurology and had an MRI which was clear. He thinks it could be VM or Ménière’s and has referred me to ENT. Anyone have a similar story or advice ? TIA

1 Like

welcome, Donna, that’s tough luck … hang in there, I’m sure it will get better, but definitely a most unexpected response.

Hi
How were you diagnosed ? And what medication worked for you……we’re your symptoms similar ? Sorry I’m advance for all the questions :face_with_peeking_eye:

I got VM symptoms last April, one day after having what I thought was a regular classic migraine. Like you I’m in my 50’s on HRT. But I’ve been on HRT long before the balance and dizziness issues started. Do you have any history of migraines or family history of them?

My understanding of Menieres is it causes attacks of dizziness, hearing loss tinnitus etc but not continuous symptoms. My father in law has it and I swapped notes with him when I was waiting to see the ENT. They ruled it out in my case anyway as I dont have hearing loss or tinnitus.

I’m on Venlafaxine for VM, if in the UK its not often used for migraine prevention but I’d tried all the more commonly prescribed drugs (Propranolol, Amytriptyline/ Nortriptyline). Its much more common now in the US .

Antidepressants are commonly precribed, in low doses to prevent migraines as doctors believe low serotonin levels in the brain cause them. So treating them with Anti D’s makes sense. Other types of migraine preventatives include blood pressure meds or anti Epileptics like Topirmate.