Visit to Dr Hain and personal status update

To start things out, I started going backwards last March with my symptoms continually getting worse. I am currently on leave from work and made a trip to Chicago last June. Now on top of a diagnoses of MAV, he also rediagnosed me with bilateral meniere’s. I have been fighting the meniere’s diagnoses for several years, but I finally confirmed it myself a couple of weeks ago.

I love my music, and I have been noticing for the last couple of years that certain notes were getting harder to hear. I thought it was my car stereo, and kept trying to do things to put those notes back into my music. Well, I brought the CD’s inside and listened to them on my home stereo and they are still missing. Playing the graphics equalizer I was able to confirm that I have a distinct and significant hearing loss that peaks around 200 - 250 Hz.

Mix that with another test that several doctors have done to measure inner ear pressure, and I have meniere’s. I just never had rotational vertigo to make it official meniere’s.

Anyway, Dr Hain put me on effexor wich I am not having to big of a problem with side effects, but it isn’t doing much to prevent/reduce the frequency and severity of my dizzyspells. My good days are now better than what they were a couple of months ago, but now my bad days are worse. My GP and I are following his directions, but it is beggining to look like effexor isn’t the med for me. Next on the list is veripimil (sp?).