Working Full-Time

Hi Everyone,

I was wondering how many MAV Folks here at the Forum are able to work Full-Time?? For the last 11 years i’ve only been able to work part-time because the more stress/stimula on my job can aggravate my MAV symptoms. Even though i’m approximatley 70% better after 18 years of this dizzy condition i’m still reluctant to work full-time. I continue to work as a Substitute so that if i have a couple of bad days all i have to do is call and leave a message with my Supervisor that i won’t be in and it’s not counted against me. I don’t even have to tell them the reason why i won’t be in. I still feel somewhat fragile so i must be cautious.

So who are the Full-Time Workers here? :-)…who ever you are…your very lucky!

Joe

Hi Joe,
I have been working full time since this all started for me 7 months ago. To be honest it has been a real struggle, and without the Clonazepam I don’t think I would get to work at all. Clonazepam has helped me more than anything. I have a very stressful job - I am a research associate at a University and I manage the recruitment and education for a large research study. I am under constant pressure to recruit participants. In addition I have to give presentations to medical professionals. I am probably one of the few people that enjoys public speaking, but for the last 3 months I have not been able to give presentations because I don’t feel well enough yet. I am strongly thinking of leaving my present position and I spent the Christmas holidays working on my resume. I am certain that the stress of my present position caused this whole MAV nightmare in the first place and is a barrier to recovery - Lisa

work full time but it’s getting harder and harder as i’ve gotten sicker. i’ve been sick off and on with dizziness for 30 years. last year was horrible. I wish i could retire but am not old enough. Thank God i’m able to telecommute because of the nature of my job off and on. I don’t know what i’d do if i couldn’t.