Menieres , MAV, hearing loss

Hello, I am new to board and have read a few posts regarding distinguishing Menieres from MAV. One factor that keeps repeating itself in a few posts is the “lack” of hearing loss with MAV. I met a few months back with a well respected neurotologist who advised me that MAV can cause permanent damage in inner ear as well as hearing loss. It is usually bilateral. Yes, uncommon , but does happen. Is there anyone on boards who has a definate MAV diagnoses with documented hearing loss?

My ears are messed up but unrelated to vestibular migraine. As a child, my ear drums ruptured several times as a child. No hearing loss but I had permanent damage to the ear canal.

Thanks for your reply.

Ive had hearing loss mostly in my right ear & both ears were quite sensitive when i first experienced symptoms. I could not listen to loud sounds for quite a long time.

I may have some minor hearing loss in one ear in the upper frequencies - was only measured after symptoms appeared, so can’t be sure the hearing loss was due to MAV or not. It’s nothing disturbing and I still enjoy stereo music and have no problem hearing people in loud places etc.

However, far more annoying is the tinnitus, which is so far permanent, persistent, sometimes pulsative and usually a highish pitched hiss that sounds like a cooking gas tap left on. I’ve become far less pre-occupied by it over time however and usually only annoying in the evenings or in very quiet environments.

I have not experienced any deterioration in my hearing though … although the tinnitus sometimes changes in character, I haven’t perceived any general increase in it since its initial sudden onset.

My neuro is pretty convinced of the MAV diagnosis and indeed since I’ve taken amitriptyline i’ve had no further significant attacks, so it seems to be responding very well to migraine prophilaxis.

Hi,