This is my first post

Hi Scott, @Scottl
This is my first post and I don’t know if this is the right place for it, but here goes. I was diagnosed with vestibular migraine or “migraine variant” as my neurologist and ENT both called it about a year or so ago. I had VNG, hearing and all the vestibular tests and all were good, hence the diagnosis of VM. I have tried a couple of medications (propranolol, verpamil, Gabapentin, prednisone and either had bad side effects (especially prednisone and verpamil), so I gave up on all meds and tried B and Mg supplements and butterburr for a few months all with no effect.

Over the past 6 months my symptoms of dizziness balance issues and brain fog have continued to get worse. I can’t hardly drive or work anymore so my neurologist here at Kaiser in California prescribed me a starter kit (105 10mg capsules) of Nortriptyline. I have been researching the forum for a couple of months and just recently joined. All the information here has been a big help to me and I am thankful to all who post their experiences here.

I have seen a few people posting here (some a long time ago) like @penny and @Nancy_W and @Kathy_G and @larabasini that have had good success with Nort.

Lately I have been reading a few of your posts and I see that you are still posting and that you have also had success with Nortriptyline. I also see that you had a hard time when you started taking it and when raising the dose each time you increased your dosage.

So I had a couple of questions for you and anyone else that could answer my questions and give me some help with Nortriptyline. I just started taking 10mg Nort 6 days ago and I wanted to ask is it normal to feel so crappy and much more dizzy and off balance than I did before I started taking it (and I was already pretty bad)?