7 year MAVer in relapse - med thoughts?

It’s been a Long while since I have been on this forum because I’ve been doing relatively well but I’m glad to see it’s still around. I have been managing on 75 mg of effexor daily for the last seven years and it got me to about 90% along with doing a year of vestibular rehab. Still highly triggered by computer use and long travel. About a month ago I had a full relapse of my worst symptoms (bobbing, rocking, feeling like the floor is made of liquid) and am not getting relief from just the effexor. Neuro prescribed 40 mg of verapamil twice daily. It is starting to help a bit with the bobbing and rocking but am still pretty disoriented visually. Would you increase the verapamil or the effexor if you were me? I did really well on the effexor for so long I’m inclined to see if increasing dosage would be of benefit since I also suffer bad anxiety and panic, but relieving the symptoms is my priority and I’m seeing some relief with this dose of verapamil but it’s a new drug to me and I’m a sensitive flower. Your thoughts appreciated. Should also mention doc also gave me the emgality shot but I saw no change for two weeks so I started the verapamil.

1 Like