Alternative to propranolol

Hi All,

The main side effects I had starting Propanolol were insomnia, mild depression, slow bowels, and low libido. I kept with the med anyways (because I’m now a pro at doing that with meds, lol) and after about 6 months all these side effects faded except slow bowels. I swear I’m going to overdose on Metamucil, and I already eat plenty of fiber naturally. I get so many annoying low back pains from intestinal pressure, sorry for the details but ouch…

Anyways, wondering if anyone has switched to something like Metoprolol and noticed any different side effects. Since most people take Propanolol I’m guessing there won’t be many answers here, but just thought I’d ask. Probably will try to switch anyways to see if anything changes. Also thought about going down in dose, but I’m at 60mg ER and there is no ER at a lower dose. Might try immediate release. I dunno, thoughts?

Erik

I’ve taken Propranolol for years now and luckily not suffered like you. Most unfortunate. Not sure how common it is with betablockers but lots of medications do cause such troubles.

Might be worth trying another one. I’d imagine you’d experience different side effects with different betablockers especially if you bear in mind not all betablockers are the same some being classed as selective and some non selective. There are several which have been trialled for preventatives. Can’t recall off hand which but there are only a couple other than Propranolol proven to help.