Difficulty coming off Nortriptyline

Hi, Dr S has advised me to reduce my Nortriptyline from70 the 30 coming down 10mgs every 5 days. Since I was only on 70 for 6 days I came off it the next day, then 4 days later reduced a further 10 mgs to 50. It was ok for a day but since then I am experience dreadfall repurcussions. My bady aches as if I have very bad flu plus the usual disequilibrium. I can hardly bare to move since bizarely it hurts. I am wondering if I have withdrawn too quickly and too much from the drugs? or after 9 weeks is this drug difficult to come off?

Fiona, most anti-depressants cause problems when coming off them. I was only on nort for 1 month before I had to stop and I had withdrawal problems in the form of “brain zaps.” When I came off of 20 mgs of Lexapro years ago it took me about 9 months. Did your doctor give you a schedule to go through or are you doing it by yourself? Going from 70 to 50 within a week may be too much of a drop. My advice (and I’m not a doctor) would be to hold at the 50 until you feel somewhat normal and then cut back again and stay there until you feel normal and continue that way.

Or, is it possible that you really are sick with some kind of flu?

Thanks for the reply. No I deff don’t have flu. Dr S told me to come off 10mg every 5 days. As it stands I feel so rough I shall not go any lower until it bottoms out. It’s been 3 days already . The problem is that these disruptions to the brain just keep rippling out, like a stone in a pond.