Gut Brain Therapy: From the horse's mouth

Thank you all for the opportunity to have an open discussion about the theory and science behind our Gut Brain Therapy™. I have had a number of “light bulb” moments in my 15 years of study of medicine that I think you will find interesting and thought provoking.

I am not a doctor. While I feared that my entering the natural medicine business 15 years ago without appropriate initials behind my name would be a detriment, in the long run I have found it to be a true asset. What I mean by this is that the chiropractor sees the condition you come to them with in chiropractic terms, the naturopath sees your disease through naturopathic eyes, and the medical doctor through the eyes reflective of their training. This is why there are so many options available for the same condition. I entered this “second career” from a place where I had very little in the way of preconceived ideas or beliefs.

At one point early in my path I wanted to know what caused most chronic diseases so I went into the medical literature and searched the current understanding of migraine, irritable bowel, diabetes, arthritis, fibromyalgia, colitis, MS, etc. Not having a medical background I expected the medical descriptions to include an understanding of underlying cause. While the various descriptions included some “current thoughts” about the causes they, in the end, were all described as incurable diseases of unknown cause. Most of the discussions were about the various interventions available to manage the manifested symptoms in those who suffer. Perhaps no one group has a better understanding of this lack of information about root cause than those who suffer from the various types of migraine.

So this was my first huge light bulb moment….that the entire paradigm for the treatment of chronic disease was based on “we don’t know what causes it, we don’t know how to cure it, so this is how we are going to treat your symptoms”.