Hi, I’m Jessica

Hello everyone my name is Jessica.
I was recently diagnosed with vestibular migraine about a month ago. I am an occupational therapist and I currently work in a hospital and I’m very familiar with a lot of different type of diagnoses and vestibular disorders that I have encountered with my patients. I however during my six years of being a therapist, have never heard of vestibular migraine.

My symptoms initially started when I started drinking a lot of green tea. In terms of life stressors, I have been in a lot of pain for about a month due to dental issues and I’ve been on five different series of antibiotics prior to the start of symptoms. (I do believe this may be one of main reasons I started having symptoms)

I’m in the process of figuring out all my triggers but currently the biggest ones are hot showers and light Sensitivity. I’ve had two major attacks during the last week with two of them being hot and Luke warm showers. My dizziness started as something that wasn’t affecting my every day life but currently I am dizzy every day and have been out of work for about a week.

My best abort medication appears to be Tylenol at this time and sumatriptan does not work at all. I have currently started on a medication called propananol (beta blocker), And I am determined to wean off of any medication that works for me after period of time as my husband and I have recently wanted to start a family.

In terms of mental health I was in a really dark place last week when I was put out of work. I realize the importance of knowing that you are able to complete your roles as a wife and a daughter and a coworker at work. I am usually a positive person, so I have been doing better in terms of the mental health this week. I try to tell myself that dizziness is just dizziness and that I will find out a way to conquer this all and live my life normally like I did the way before.