I just performed an ill advised act of rebellion and dumped topomax

I was on 25mg. A week of titration to 50mg provided me with an experience that several years from now will be painfully funny. Not yet. Not by a lot. So, dropping down wasn’t really an issue except for the obvious - less migraines and less vestibular issues being paid for with side effects out of all proportion with the dose or the effects. A month in on a low dose, I can’t feel my hands, can’t think, can’t stay out of the bathroom and carrying a low grade fever. I mean, seriously?!

1 Like

Not good, poor you … be sure to type that up when the ratings category goes live ! :open_mouth:

1 Like

I think I said this somewhere else on this forum, but I have an acquaintance whose wife is experiencing memory loss after taking Topomax for migraine prevention. She’s not on the drug any more (I don’t know how long she’s been off it) and is still having the memory issues.

Also, I have a friend who is a PhD scientist who has done pharmaceutical research. I was talking to her one day about vestibular migraine and told her about some of the different drugs that are used as migraine preventatives. I mentioned nortriptyline and amitriptyline, Topomax, and calcium channel blockers. She said, “Stay away from the Topomax. It can cause all sorts of problems.”

Youch, should probably stick this in its own thread … done

1 Like

Again don’t let Topomax color your opinion on the other drugs. There are other fish in the sea and not all of them are sharks ! Amitriptyline could be a walk in the park for you.

1 Like

That’s where my neurologist wants to go next. Except weight gain is a common side effect. I already have a metabolic disorder (PCOS). The last thing I need is more fat. I qualify for gastric bypass right now, despite regular exercise and a keto diet.