Lyme and MAV

Hi everyone. This is my first post. This is a wonderful board full of info. I have had MAV for 6 weeks and counting. At first I had one severe vertigo, room spinning attack and felt totally off balance. Now, I have vertigo like sensations - feel like I’m spinning and dizziness 24/7. Still feel off balance. And I do have headaches.

And I have visual stuff too - can be set off just by looking at stuff. Stores are awful. Have light sensitivity. I had two hopeful days last week but it came right back. This week has been awful. I had a normal VNG test and rotary chair test so they told me MAV.

I have had headaches for many years - always called them tension headaches. And I also thought they were lyme headaches as well. I do not have a family history of migraine. Personally, I had one migraine - an ocular migraine - two years ago.

I have been treating lyme and co-infections off and on for a few years. Someone told me that my MAV may be due to the lyme. So my lyme doc put me back on doxy. I have a neurology appt. in January for the MAV. I have been on the migraine diet for two weeks and don’t know if it is helping any.

I have been trying to curb my anxiety as that makes this super bad and I owe it to everyone on this board who has helped with that. Reading your success stories has been very helpful.

I think what I am going to do is treat my lyme for a few weeks and then add in a migraine preventive. My GP can prescribe it since the neuro can’t see me yet. I was thinking of starting with Nori.

One piece of advice I was given was that lyme may be causing this for me but it won’t go away if I don’t get the migraine turned off.

Does anyone here have MAV and also just happen to have lyme as well?

I appreciate all opinions on my situation. Thanks so much.

Julie