My Dizziness Story

Hi Folks

Newbie here

13 weeks ago my life changed!

I had been feeling off for a week… Just a cold type virus.My ears were pretty blocked.

As the days passed I noticed when out walking I had a real brain fog. Felt spaced out and everything felt a bit surreal.

I also felt off balance. Fine when sitting or lying down. Symptoms started when I was out walking around moving.

A few weeks passed and the brain fog dissapeared but I was left with general dizziness when moving and 100% worse when I entered a busy place like supermarkets etc. Sent my brain haywire.

I have never had spinning sensations or nausea.

I have been off work since.

GP put it down to a post viral balance disorder.

Fed up with feeling like this I went and found vestibular physio.

I had my first appt at week 8. She tested me for Bppv which was negative and agreed there had been some kind of vestibular episode.

I started VRT. At week 10 I was seeing some real improvements although things got worse before they improved.

I started going running and worked myself up to 3 miles. I felt great and was really back to normal!

I restarted HIT classes at the gym and done a cpl. PT was happy with this. PT was happy for my to stop VRT.

6 days ago a few hours after a HIT class the dizziness returned. I was lying on the sofa and it came from no where.

PT advised me to start VRT again which I have done.

I feel like I’m back to square one. Brain fog and dizziness has returned… So frustrating I’m due back at work and unsure if I will cope.

I have my first Ent appointment next week. Something I hoped I would not need.

Please tell me this gets better!!

Sorry about the long post

1 Like

Welcome. Seems a somewhat familiar story unfortunately. It almost invariably does improve eventually but it unfortunately can take a loooong time and it can get a lot worse before it starts to improve again.

You may need the help of an oto-neuro, although the ENT may be able to help.