Question about ECOG and caloric testing?

Hello,

This is my first time posting on this board. My dizzy journey began 15 years ago. My first diagnosis was MAV. I have bilateral hearing loss that is believed to be genetic due to the fact that it is a “cooke bite” shaped hearing loss pattern that was discovered on my first hearing test. I have bilateral tinnitus that was present from the onset of my first dizzy symptoms. Over the years I have been blessed with periods of remission, my most recent lasting 7 years.

My diagnosis was changed along the way to Meniere’s once I had elevated ECOG scores in the 60’s in both ears and a caloric test that revealed a weakness in one ear. The part that has always been confusing is that I have never had the typical MM symptoms. No room spinning vertigo, fluctuations in hearing or tinnitus. My symptoms were never episodic. Just the constant 24/7 dizziness. Patterns, grocery stores, certain types of lighting are just a few of the things that could really get the dizziness going strong.

Fast forward to March of this year. Had a bad cold that wrecked havoc on my ears. Pressure and fullness that has just started getting better in the last two weeks. I was blocked solid in one tube for weeks. Diagnosis was eustachian tube dysfunction, but not the fullness that can come with the whole MM package… Barometric pressure lows are rocking my world in a big way. Blurred vision starts long before the weather system hits our area, and the tinnitus really spikes as well. The lows can seems to affect the pressure in my ears as well.

The most difficult thing to try to overcome with this go round is terrible hyperacusis. The sound of water running out of a faucet is very difficult and dishes, silverware, etc. are very painful. Pain to the point of making me sick. I have never had hyperacusis before this.