Quick question - VRT?

Hi,

You guys have been really helpful since I joined (just a day ago) and I’ve asked a lot of questions. I have one more quick question though that I thought I should put in a seperate thread. I’ve been doing VRT almost daily for a few months now as it was thought that I had uncompensated Labs/VN. It always makes me dizzier worse when I do it for an hour or so afterwards, but sometimes I feel a little better a few hourse later. Other occasionaly it makes me far worse and I’m a lot dizzier for a few days.

While I wait to see the Doc again and to try the MAV route, do you think it is prudent for me to carry on with the vrt or to lay off it? How does VRT interact with MAV?

Mark

Hi Mark,

If it were me, I would lay off the VRT since it doesn’t seem to be helping overall. VRT typically causes worsening of symptoms for those with MAV. I haven’t tried it myself, so I am basing this on what I have read of others’ experiences.

Take care,

Marci

My completely unprofessional, not-very-knowledgeable understanding of VRT is (as Marci indicated) that if you try VRT and it makes you feel worse, that’s pretty much a sign that you DO have MAV.

Many people with MAV can’t really do much that involves (a) physical exertion or (b) visual focus / concentration. This tends to be basically too much for the brain; it’s believed that an MAV brain is hypersensitive and does not properly respond to various stimuli / input, such as motion, proprioception (sort of the body’s sense of where it “is” spatially), visually complex environments (such as grocery stores), etc.

If sometimes you feel a little better afterward, then that may or may not be as a result of VRT. It depends – does the intensity normally change / vary a little bit throughout the day?

Presumably, if VRT was helping, you’d see a trend of gradual improvement, rather than ‘sometimes better, sometimes worse’ after doing it.