Topamax just stopped working

Hi All

i have been on topiramate for about 3 months, taking 50mg and it has been working brilliantly. Side effects were horrible but the vertigo was really under control and I felt like my life was back under control again.

Then last week it just seems to have stopped working. I had a really stressful day and I thought this had caused a break through episode and it would pass, but it hasn’t.

It’s as though I have just stopped taking them!

The vertigo is back to how it was before I was taking the meds, only now I have the effects of that dizzyness, headache, tiredness plus the side effects of the medication.

Has this happened to anyone else? I’ve tried calling my doctor but can’t get through. I feel a bit desperate, should I just try increasing the topamax to 75mg?

Jo

Hey,

Sorry you are feeling like this…

Obv I’m no doctor, but I’d be surprised if a drug can just stop working. More likely your episode is lasting longer than usual, for whatever reason…A week isnt too much time if your triggers have been adding up for instance.

Maybe upping the dose would help though, if you can stand the side effects. What side effects do you have? I’m on 50mg of topamax… my doc wanted me to take 25 in the morning and 25 in the eve, but if I take it in the morning, I cannot function at all for 6 hours… Totally out of it, so I take the full load at night. Maybe something like that could help you?

X

I feel the same, it surely couldn’t just stop.

I think maybe I’ve just been lucky that it had worked so well to start off with, I hadn’t really suffered since I started the meds (apart from the side effects which are horrible).

I don’t want to really increase as the tablets make me feel so grotty when I’m taking 2 that I dread to think what 3 would feel like :frowning:

I’d got this little part of me that thought maybe I was cured :smiley:

A few questions for you -